They call this war a cloud over the land. But they made the weather and then they stand in the rain and say: ‘Shit, it’s raining!’

When I heard this phrase in the movie Cold Mountain, desperately shouted by (character) Ruby Thewes, I literally got shivers.

(starts at: 3:50)

Many times when I think about this world, and I hear myself and people around me talking about the ‘war’ (the wrong things around us), this quote comes back in my mind…

Another quote from the same movie that should be written or said by partners of military people from all over the world to their partners ‘on duty’:

If you are fighting, stop fighting. If you are marching, stop marching. Come back to me. Come back to me is my request.

Not necessarily because the ‘people left behind’ miss those soldiers, but because it’s the only way we can create a better world. We cannot create a better world by having wars. Nor by having more police men. Nor by having more lawyers. Or bankers, politicians and other ‘law-creators‘ or ‘law-enforcers‘.

And the soldier would wisely reply:

I’ll…. “I ain’t getting shot again for some cause I don’t believe in.”

Only if we truly understand that, and act if that’s the case, there is hope of a better tomorrow.

We don’t need more laws, we need more understanding towards each-other…

EDIT:

Today I heard the song “If I Can Dream” again, written by Walter Earl Brown, performed by Elvis Presley. Two parts made me think of this post again:

There must be peace and understanding sometime

(…)

We’re lost in a cloud
With too much rain
We’re trapped in a world
That’s troubled with pain

